“Ask me anything.”-God

A friend posted about reading the second portion of John 16 this morning, which prompted me to just read John 16, period. And this chapter is amazing. It’s all about the Holy Spirit, guys! It’s so radical. So it starts out with Jesus telling His disciples about how He’s going to ascend to Heaven and they’re like, ‘No, don’t go that makes us sad!’ And now, I’ve read this before bunches of times and I know that the ‘Helper’ He talks about in v.7 is the Holy Spirit, but right now I’m just trippin’ on verses 13-15:

However, when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you the things to come. He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. All things that the Father has are Mine. Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.

This is talking about how the Holy Spirit is going to speak to us perceptibly, substantially, tangibly. It says plain as day, that the Helper, the Spirit of Truth is going to hear from the Father and tell us the things to come. The Holy Spirit is our advocate He is going to speak to us the things that the Father speaks to Him. People! This is the Bible, the Holy Word of God telling us that not only can we speak to Jesus Himself, but also- He will speak back to us! This is not the ‘old covenant’ or meant for the days when Jesus walked the Earth in flesh. It’s for the here and now. How much clearer can He get that He sent the Holy Spirit to us for our communication with the Father!?
The definition of communication is: “the imparting or interchange of thoughts, opinions, or information by speech, writing, or signs; something imparted, interchanged, or transmitted.”
The Holy Spirit wants to communicate with us, isn’t that INSANE? Have you ever heard the voice of God tangibly? Because God wants to speak to you, not only through His Word, but also through other means, “by speech, writing or signs.” Will you believe that your conversations with God are just that-interchanges between two beings, impartation in your spirit? Will you believe that God can speak to you, (yes, YOU) through dreams, visions, and prophesies? When Jesus told the disciples that the time was near that He would ascend back into Heaven to sit at the right hand of God they were sad; they had sorrow in their spirits because they thought that this would be the end of their open communication with their Lord. But Jesus, understanding and knowing all things saw the sorrow in their hearts and gave them a promise of joy & rejoicing, open communications with the Father, so that they-so that we could ask anything in His name. I’m telling you that if you open your heart and ask the Holy Spirit to fill you up, He will. Ask to hear from God, you will. Ask. Receive.

Therefore you now have sorrow; but I will see you again and your heart will rejoice, and your joy no one will take from you. And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. Until now you have asked nothing in My name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full. -v.22-24

This is even nuttier; verses 22-27 talk about how the reason that we don’t think we hear from God is because we don’t ASK. “Until now you have asked nothing in My name.” It tells us in v.27 that the Father Himself loves us. He desires communion with us, He desires to hear from us, and to respond directly. God knows you. That is something that is just so crazy to me, the fact that He knows me. He knows that I like to dance, He knows my heart for Africa, He knows me inside and out and He sees me as so valuable, so worth it that He wants to speak to me, He wants to prove to me that He is paying attention to me, that He is involved with me and our spirits are knit for eternity. C’mon! That’s incredible. I mean, I always knew God loved me, and He cared for my heart, but this idea that I can have a conversation with him, that He can reveal things to me. That’s absolutely remarkable and it just wrecks me. I never understood that expression until after I understood this concept, and I never thought I’d see myself use it but it’s the only thing to say. This new insight into the depths of His unconditional love for me and for His people! We are all His people and the sheep of His pasture and He’s the Shepherd who will forsake hundreds for just one, because you are cherished. You are dearly loved. And that is how being “wrecked” is a good thing. Wreck yourself, and find the depths of His love; lose yourself, find your Savior.

Because the God who created the universe is in love with me, and that’s something to write home about.

Leave a Reply

