Acts 12

Peter was put in prison by King Herod, and he was guarded by four squads of soldiers. On this particular night, he was bound with two chains between two soldiers, and there were guards before the door- and constant prayer was offered to God for him from the church.

Now behold, an angel of the Lord stood by him, and a light shone in the prison; and he struck Peter on the side and raised him up, saying, “Arise quickly!” And his chains fell off his hands.

I am not a fan of fantasy, at all really. I like things to be real as the eyes I’m seeing them with. The Bible is not fantasy. I believe in the Bible in it’s entirety as the inspired Word of God. It’s real, and the stories in it are real. This story was real-as in it actually happened. As I read this I was trying to believe it. I mean, imagine a bright light in the middle of the night and an angel poking you in the side to wake you up so he can bust you out of prison right past all the guards. It sounds fictional! Like, maybe it was a dream or something. So thinking this, I continued reading… the angel told him to get dressed and to follow him.

So he went out and followed him, and did not know that what was done by the angel was real, but thought he was seeing a vision.

So, wait- Peter lived this. This was a real, physical happening in his life and even he wasn’t even convinced at first! He thought he was having a vision! I serve a magnificent God, and He does incredible works. The definition of incredible is “so extraordinary as to seem impossible.” Yes, He is incredible and extraordinary, and His works are incredible and extraordinary and that is precisely what makes God unimaginable. He is real, folks and what He does is real, solid, actual.

And when Peter had come to himself, he said, “Now I know for certain that the Lord has sent His angel, and has delivered me from the hand of Herod and from all the expectation of the Jewish people.

Peter had been delivered by the divine works of the Lord in His life, and he realized this as fact. I believe what I read in Scripture and stories like this don’t make me doubt, they make me think. They increase my awareness of the awesome, mighty power of my King. They make me cry out, “Lord do a work like this in my generation, that all may see Your glory! LORD, BE MAGNIFIED.”

I hope that when God does things in my life, that I will be able to recognize them and give Him all the glory for it. I also hope that God will teach us all how to pray like the church in the beginning of this chapter. They prayed constantly for Peter until He was delivered. Prayer is powerful, and God wants to hear from us. I forget that, and neglect that too often.

Leave a Reply

